cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please create emergency data plans for Coronavirus

toronto12323
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hello,

I'm a student on tight budget, so I opted to use my data instead of purchasing home internet. I'm just careful with it, and it usually lasts. I have 8,5 Gig. 

However, my school is closed, so I cannot use its internet. I'm afraid I'll run out and won't be able to complete my online exams,

I don't know how to reach any customer representative for this company (?) 

Some people need to be able to purchase data internet at reasonable prices, now that we're stuck at home. Please enable me to buy another 8.5 Gigs for $50 before my plan renews. $30 for 1Gig is price couging--not appropriate for such emergency.

21 REPLIES 21

@karenob  Seeing as were stuck at home you would be better off looking at home WiFi. There are lots of smaller home internet companies offering 60gb for $30 per month. Try googling the options in your area.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@karenob wrote:

I agree.   I just returned to Canada from EU and following the self isolation policies.  I am in country with no internet access relying on cellular data.    I never cancelled my plan since out of country since January.  Put SIM card back in phone Mar 18.   Since then I’ve  used up my regular 40 plan.  Added data add on, then changed plan to $50 to get more gb.      

not planning to renew when used up.    The large service providers have opened up unlimited data during this time and I would have expected Public, part of Telus, to offer same

You came here for the rates. The top tier providers charge much more which can enable them to absorb things like that. I don't see mention of data freebies on Chatr or Lucky.

zblackma
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire