cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

International Texting

S-K
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi, 

I got the $40 plan with free international texting. I'm trying to text to Pakistan but it keeps saying message failed. Is Pakistani not on the texting list? If not how do I text there and what steps can I take to have it added to the list?

29 REPLIES 29

homer
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

That worked for me, thanks 🙂 

raghavgururajan

@hs17 

Sorry! I ran out of ideas.

What @srlawren said make sense. You could try sending a message with mobile data turned off. Your message should get stuck on "sending.." for a while,  then long press your message and click "send as text message".

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@hs17 wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Public Mobile. Just got it. I asked the agent if I will be able to text internationally and he said yes (I need to text my spouse in Pakistan). I have not been able to text her successfully via SMS thus far.

@hs17 to confirm:  you are physically in Canada, still?

@hs17 wrote:

I have iPhone 5s - does that make a difference? Please advise, it is important that I reach her.

@hs17 actually, it might.  Do you have iMesage set to deliver over SMS?  I'm not sure of the details, but depending what type of phone your spouse is using in Pakistan (iPhone or not iPhone) and whether they have access to mobile data/WiFi you may need to change some settings.  

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

@hs17 wrote:

Does not work either

What doesn't work? Quoting will help so we know the steps tried.

hs17
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Does not work either

hs17

Does not work

raghavgururajan

Hi There!

Could you try sending a test SMS to different phone number(s) of different carrier(s) in Pakistan? If any of those succeeds, then the problem is actually with the receiving carrier that is used by your spouse.