Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can you receive text while overseas?

Lu09020312
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hi, 

I'm new to PM.

Just wondering in case of travelling overseas, can I receive text outside of Canada?

Thanks

24 REPLIES 24

@chank   Yes, very few VoIP will support short code, which 2FA relies on

A workaround is to use either email for 2FA (which is weak) or use Voice calling with some tweak.  Forward all the voice calls to your VoIP phone number.  So, the 2FA voice calls will call your PM number but got forwarded to your VoIP app and you can pickup the 2FA code that way.  Hope that helps

Of course, another workaround is to remove the 2FA completely , which obviously not recommended unless none of the workarounds above works

chank
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

A follow up here about TextFree.us. I have tried using it now for a few accounts and the only one that has worked via text is TD. The others (bar one) have worked if I get the organization to call me on the number rather than text. One account (can't remember which one) flat out refused to use the number. So mixed results.

Very few of my accounts support the use of an authenticator app and insist on sending a text message. I think if I started travelling again I'd probably change phone providers.

chank

For information, I created an account with TextFree.us and got a free phone number. You download their app from the relevant app store to use the number, or you can use the web site. I successfully updated my TD account to use this number for 2FA, although to date that is the only account I have tried. All you have to do with textfree.us to keep the number for free, is use the number at least once a month, send a text or make a call. The app does have a large advertising panel though, which is a bit annoying, but given it will be only used to receive messages which I am expecting then its ok. The web page doesn't have any ads and so may be a better choice.