cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adds

Norasj
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I'm new to public mobile and have noticed I have adds popping up on my cell phone now, I never have before. I had done a factory reset prior to inserting the SIM card. Is this normal? 

11 REPLIES 11

@Norasj

Public Mobile does send SMS/MMS notifications from a group of different numbers. Here's a list of the ones I've observed:

https://productioncommunity.publicmobile.ca/t5/Discussions/quot-Public-Mobile-here-quot-numbers/td-p...

If you're new to PM with a new number then you might have inherited one the spammers still have targeted (they successfully scammed a victim at that number, or whatever reason). If you're not especially attached to your PM number then login Self-Serve and request a number change - it's free (once per month) but might take a day or two to complete.

The phone might have malware, spyware, junkware, adware. Not just malicious stuff but simply unwanted payloads installed by the phone vendor (which will likely persist after hard resets) or by other apps/services/components you've routinely installed.

Clean everything up and evaluate all the things you use or don't use (along with alternatives) with a critical eye. Trust nothing.

Probably not necessary, but changing all your PINs and passwords for cloud sign-ins, emails, voicemails, accounts wouldn't hurt.

Anonymous
Not applicable

lol

And yet everybody goes bananas when a spam arrives in their private message inbox that is an innocuous invite. Not some blatant ad screaming at you - buy our product!!

First world problems.

lorca01
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen