cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible SIM swap

Pigma
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I believe I've been the victim of a SIM swap attack. Here are the series of events that leaves me to believe this (I work in IT security, so I'm somewhat familiar with these attacks):

1. Suddenly, my phone wasn't connecting to any Public Mobile network (I'm not talking about Wifi or Cellular Data, I mean the actual Public Mobile network directly).

2. My Gmail account was suddenly bombarded with registrations to new websites and services, including a PayPal account registration.

3. I visited a store that serves Public Mobile clients, and they didn't know what a SIM swap was, so I opted to purchase a new SIM card to change it myself.

4. I opened my Public Mobile profile/account via the website, and noticed that the SIM card that was registered didn't match with the one in my cellphone.

5. I changed to the new SIM card, and my phone started working again, however:

6. My number is now different that the one I've used in the past decade with Public Mobile.

7. I went back to the store and they were just as confused as I was, and suggested I post here.

My question is, what do I do now if I can't go into any store since those don't exist anymore, and those who resell don't have access to anything.

31 REPLIES 31

@Pigma 

Although @JoyLuck suggestion has merit it may also open up a whole different set of problems. You cannot transfer phone numbers between accounts and you can't transfer rewards either so while you may save your number you're still in a spot. But working within the realm of telus and where the blame lies for the security failure of your account. There's no reason you can't be offered a free sim card and a minimal charge telus account and port your number back in. Which you should be able to do sooner than 30 days.

Pigma

@JoyLuck wrote:

@Pigma