cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone has been blacklisted

tonyzhang
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello, I have a Samsung Galaxy S5 that I have been using with Public Mobile since November 2015, until last week, it was working perfectly fine. Until a few days ago, I didn't even realize the phone stopped working. By stopped working I mean no phone calls, no text, no data (been using it through WiFi mostly so didn't notice it). At the top it would simply show "Unregistered SIM". First thing I did was put in another Public Mobile SIM to the phone, didn't work, then I put my SIM to another phone, works fine. So the problem is with the phone.

I Google'd "Unregistered SIM" and try many steps, like factory reset, checking the IMEI is still there (EFS not corrupted), leaving the phone in Plane mode for a while then turn that off, flashing to the latest firmware (6.0.1). All didn't work. Finally, I came across someone in a forum mentioning that the phone might be blacklisted, so I checked my IMEI against http://www.protectyourdata.ca/check-the-status-of-your-device-in-canada/ and to my surprise, it has indeed been blacklisted and that's the reason it stopped working.