cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PM Newbie here - some questions

mynewhome
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

Hello all!

Switched from Fido and have reliable cell signal in my condo for the first time in 5 years!

Used to have to be close to window or out on the balcony...sheesh.

A couple of questions:

I don't have a long distance plan outside of Canada, what happens if I make a call to the u.s, what are the charges?

What happens if i use my allotted data in less than 30 days? Do I just not have data until my next cycle?

How much do you have to contribute in this community to see credits on my account?

Why can't I create an article?

Thanks in advance

14 REPLIES 14

mynewhome

Thanks, that's very helpful.

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@computergeek541 wrote:

Hangouts Dialer can be made to show your Canadian phone number for the outgoing call display.

@mynewhome wrote:

how?

@mynewhome please see here: Hangouts - Verify Phone Number for outbound Caller ID

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

dennisedge
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

For all my USA calls I simple use the App called Google Hangouts.  

Download it from your store. It is 100% free and I love it.

mynewhome

how?

@mynewhome wrote:

same with hangouts, but you need a us cell number to activate google voice?

Hangouts Dialer can be made to show your Canadian phone number for the outgoing call display.

xchoo

@mynewhome wrote:

Oop! Got them mixed up. I meant to say Hangouts, not google voice. Smiley Tongue

mynewhome

xchoo

@mynewhome If you are a google (gmail) user, you can also make calls to the US for free using google voice hangouts. PM me if you want to know how. Smiley Happy

Triguy
Mayor / Maire

As an alternative - you could buy a LD calling cards or use apps like Skype, textnow, or fongo.

will13am
Oracle
Oracle