cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New user - need help with tethering

priss
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hello! I’m new to Public Mobile... Basically I am using a Huawei p20 pro and everything was fine until I tried to tether. The issue is when another device connects to my phone, my phone loses internet connection.

I have followed instructions on the community board to set up the APN. Everything could be set up except “dun” type couldn’t be added. I’m not sure if that’s the issue.

please help! How can I tether and not lose internet connection?

4 REPLIES 4

pvuong
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I'm having the same issue.  I have a Hauwei Nova 3 (my other phone is a Samsung Note 5).

When I set up a hotspot on my Nova3; the Note5 connects fine and has data; but the Nova3 loses it... (i know its not a Nova3 issues, b/c my gf has the same phone, with a different carrier, and the hotspot works fine, ie. both devices have data).

I've been reading up on this forum; it seems it has someinthing to do with APN settings; mainly, adding "dun" to the APN type,  but I get a message saying "do not have persmission to change dun-type APN from carrier " to the affect...

what am i doing wrong/what else can i do?

will13am
Oracle
Oracle

@priss, just to confirm, you are using the normally used APN, sp.mb.com?  Public Mobile allows tethering without doing anything special.  With respect to dun in the APN type field, it's only necessary if the tethered device is not getting data.  

RobertQc
Mayor / Maire

@priss wrote:

Hello! I’m new to Public Mobile... Basically I am using a Huawei p20 pro and everything was fine until I tried to tether. The issue is when another device connects to my phone, my phone loses internet connection.

I have followed instructions on the community board to set up the APN. Everything could be set up except “dun” type couldn’t be added. I’m not sure if that’s the issue.