cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Locked Bell phone nightmare

0bE
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello everyone. I'm new to Public Mobile and i have a problem...

The story:

-Purchased a Public Mobile SIM card / joined the club.
-Canceled Bell Mobility Service and xfered phone number
-Loaded up PM SIM card and inputted an incorrect Unlock code three times (which Bell provided)
- Called Bell and asked for PUK code (which is required after 3 failed attempts at unlock). They proceeded to give me 3 different PUK codes... all incorrect! Yup. Unbelievable.
- Bell claims that "its all they can do for me' and then proceeded to pass the buck to public mobile.
- Public Mobile obviously cant help a guy with a locked phone from another carrier. But i tried their PUK code anyways. No luck

Am i completely screwed? Is Bell really this evil and pathetic and useless? Is a new phone my only option at this point?

any help would be greatly appreciated.

thx

8 REPLIES 8

@0bE wrote:

Would you guys say that I may need to order a new Public Mobile SIM card as well (if I do get my phone unlocked that is) ?

I don't believe that you will.  Sim card security wouldn't just get enabled by itself.  And, as I was saying, for a brand new sim card, the code would just be 1234 unless you have it changed.   Also, of note: Your sim card's PIN is not your account PIN.  The PUK that Public Mobile is just master sim card security code unique your specific sim card (it is a backup code).  A new sim card would simply bypass the need for that code.

In a way, it would almost be better if you were being prompted for your sim card's security PIN.   That would mean that you haven't used up your network unlock code attempts for unlocking your phone.  Unfortunately, I do believe that it was the network unlock code that your phone was asking for.