cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I can't make phone calls

aurevoirblue
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi,

I've seen this question posted on the boards, but can't find a solution. I'm new to Public and this is only my first month, so if anyone could please provide me with a solution to this, I'd appreciate it.

Problem is: I can't make any phone calls. It just hangs up without going through. Also, keep getting a "new voicemail" notification but when I dial it hangs up.

I've tried: Power cycling, removing the sim and restarting. Nothing's working

I did transfer my number from my other carrier, but that was a month ago, so don't think that's an issue. What's the problem, and how do I fix this asap?

Thanks

11 REPLIES 11

aneelrajani
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

For anyone else having this issue after 4-6hrs of requesting the port, I had to

a) power off my phone

b) remove the sim card

c) turn on the phone without the sim card

d) turn the phone back off

e) put the sim card back in the phone

f) turn the phone on

not sure how that fixed it, but i've heard of others on Android 8.x have to do similar things.

@aurevoirblue wrote:

Hi,

I've seen this question posted on the boards, but can't find a solution. I'm new to Public and this is only my first month, so if anyone could please provide me with a solution to this, I'd appreciate it.

Problem is: I can't make any phone calls. It just hangs up without going through. Also, keep getting a "new voicemail" notification but when I dial it hangs up.

I did transfer my number from my other carrier, but that was a month ago, so don't think that's an issue. What's the problem, and how do I fix this asap?

Thanks

@aurevoirblue wrote:

Thanks for the reply @geopublic 

I do see that it's set to LTE - how do I set this to 3G?

@aurevoirblue  

moto e4 plus™ - Network Mode Settings
  1. From a Home screen, swipe up to access all apps.
  2. Navigate: Settings > More.