cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Phone App?

DanAR
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

As a noob, I'm still trying to get the most out of my phone.  I'm using the standard android 9 phone app on my Moto G phone.  I've seen different looking screens on tv drama shows that look cool.  Is theer one or more better phone apps that I could/should try?

15 REPLIES 15

DanAR

Thanks for this.

payammasjedi
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi

I recommend using Google Phone app (on Google play it's called Phone in the Google LLC channel) and by far, it's very good. It also has a spam alert system that will notify you if a call is spam or suspicious. There's also a security tab notifier that tells you the caller could be spam.

My favorite feature is that if you want to make sure, there's an AI answering machine that tries to know if they're legit and you can pickup after.

But if you're using iOS, Truecaller is good app, although I paid for the premium and it's ad-free and useful.

DanAR

Thanks for the education. 😃

Will dig deeper into launchers.

DanAR

Wow! a lot of detail.

Thanks muchly 😃

ctbmacdonald
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

For a launcher, I tend to use Lean Launcher.  It's great on battery life, doesn't have a lot of fluff and it's FREE with no ads or more stuff to buy.  Nova is good too, but I find the load time is a bit slow when you have widgets.

Widgets can make your phone look cool with weather, media player and calendar.  If you are not worried about batter life, GO NUTS!!!! hehe.

Look for icon packs as well.  They can change your look without battery drain.  Having a black background with neon blue icons is really crisp.

For customization, ZEDGE is great!  Backgrounds, lock screens, sounds and ringtones.  I would install Zedge, customize what you need and uninstall it unless you want to keep customizing it every few days.