cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temporarily stop plan for a month

Zeng0xff
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hi everyone,

First, I love Canada, It's an amazing country!

I'm an international student, and I come from China. I want to go back my hometown next month, so I won't use Public Mobile service at the whole July. I wonder may I temporarily stop my plan and relative payment at just this July for saving money, and keep my # and rewards at the same time? What should I do now?

If anyone can help that would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks

10 REPLIES 10

Zeng0xff
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Thanks for your help !

@Anonymous wrote:

@Triguy wrote:

You cannot suspend/pause your account. Only thing you can do is enable lost-stolen phone feature. But nothing will change the next renewal day. If you change your plan to 30 days, you will lose whatever you already paid and you will have to pay upfront for the new plan. 

The lost/stolen feature IS a suspend. Says so right on the button to toggle it. And the 90 day clock starts then.

That is why you need to consider the timing of when you "activate" the Lost/Stolen Phone feature.

Again, be sure to read the following article for complete and up-to-date info:

When and How to Suspend or Place an account on Hold (Extended absence, etc) 

@will13am wrote:

@Zeng0xff , if you are using auto pay, simply disable it and renable it when you come back.  Be mindful that the account will go into suspension when the current paid interval is up.  The maximum period of suspension is 90 days after which the account will deactivate.  With one month of absense you should be fine.

Though accurate, this is actually incomplete and therefore misleading info. For example, if you have enough balance in your account, even if you turn off AutoPay, your account WILL RENEW!

For more complete info about how and when to suspend an account, with all the most current ins and outs, read this updated article: