cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

phone freq band compatibility

JH_T
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I am new to cell phones and networks...

My daughter provided her old phone, which I will try to activate on Public Mobile (PM).

The PM compatibility checker returns the following for my phone:

(Check mark)    3G: 850MHz, 1900MHz

(!) 4G LTE: Device does not support 4G LTE bands

My phone DOES accommodate 850MHz, 1900MHz.. does the checkmark in the compatibility response mean this phone WILL work on the PM network?

I will worry about 4G/5G later, when I get a new phone, but I just want to be sure I can use this old phone till then.

Thanks!

16 REPLIES 16

JH_T

Good point! Unfortunately, security is often the last thing we consider. My intention is mainly to make/receive calls, and use email. I see in your citation that there is a workaround now, but the overcast of doubt remains... whether proper security will be implemented . 

BKNS27
Mayor / Maire

@JH_T the reason why I ask is because of this article about older Android will not encrypted most websites.

https://www.androidpolice.com/2020/11/07/many-websites-will-stop-working-on-older-android-versions-i... 

JH_T

Android version 5.1.1

btw, I am impressed with the level of engagement on this board! 

BKNS27
Mayor / Maire

@JH_T what Android are you running in your LG Nexus 4?

@Nezgar wrote:

@JH_T wrote:

Model is LG Nexus 4.

OK, according to GSMArena, and multiple other sites, "LG Nexus 4 E960" should work... No LTE support, but that will be just fine.

Network

TechnologyGSM / HSPA
2G bandsGSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G bandsHSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100
 HSDPA 900 / 2100

The Nexus 4 is LTE-capable but was never officially suppsoed to be. People using older versions of the software and never updated it or those who are running customer software might to this this day be using it on one very high frequency LTE band.

Nezgar
Mayor / Maire

@JH_T wrote: