cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

outgoing calls / text never made

Rosie2
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I am new to Public Mobile.  Only about 3 weeks now.  I checked my Usage and noticed many texts and calls each day that I never occured.  The texts were to a numer 7723, which I have no idea what that is.  And the phone calls were to a number 226-580-4001 which I have no idea about this one either.  Most of the outgoing calls to this number is only about 5 seconds long, but some are over one minute long.  I have the $15 per month plan where I am limited to 100 minutes per month, and these unknown outgoing calls could eat through my 100 minutes quickly.  What are these numbers and how can I stop them?

12 REPLIES 12

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@Rosie2 wrote:

When I attempt to turn off the SMS permission for texting, I get this message "If you deny this permission, basic features of your device may no longer function as intended."  What happens when I turn it off then?

@Rosie2 nothing bad at all.  This is a generic Android messages when you remove permissions.  Some apps might misbehave in some ways if you take away certain permissions, but in this case it is 100% safe and will only stop the phone from trying to check for waiting visual voicemail messages, as per my previous response.  

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

@Rosie2 I wouldn't really worry about turning it off since you aren't getting charged for texts at least you know now why it's happening sometimes it's best not to mess with thingsSmiley Happy

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@Rosie2 wrote:

So is this the number I call to retrieve my vm messages?  I thought I called my actual cell phone number to get my vm messages?