cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new to public mobile, Data usage count confused.

unclesam_xu
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I am new to public mobile. and I find out the way public mobile calculate data usage are every confused. look at these two screen captures:

the first one I captured last night (04-09-18:17), it showed higher count than this morning the second one (04-10-08:34), I use wifi only last night.

2020-04-09 18-17-52 的屏幕截图.png2020-04-10 09-34-49 的屏幕截图.png

anyone knows why?

18 REPLIES 18

Anonymous
Not applicable

@maximum_gato wrote:

@unclesam_xu  You may have phone connected to WiFi and not in use. During that time you may lose the connection to WiFi briefly and the phone then connects briefly to mobile data and bact to WiFi. No mobile data is used but the buffer is then grabbed only to eventually reset if you are concerned when your data gets low (below 20mb) then use airplane mode to reset it.

It would still grab the buffer when you turn it back on. It resets seemingly overnight too anyway.

But your idea of the wifi failover is totally a possibility. Phones have settings to turn that capability off.

@unclesam_xu  You may have phone connected to WiFi and not in use. During that time you may lose the connection to WiFi briefly and the phone then connects briefly to mobile data and bact to WiFi. No mobile data is used but the buffer is then grabbed only to eventually reset if you are concerned when your data gets low (below 20mb) then use airplane mode to reset it.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@unclesam_xu wrote:

yes and no, my concern is it changed from 39M to 33M then to 39M again and I am at home, using wifi in all that period.

so all that airplane mode etc, doesn't really hit the question at all. I don't need to test anything,  above is my concern, the stats keep changing .