cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to port number

rcrane86
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hello. I am a Store Manager at Koodo Mobile in the Avalon Mall. I was advised by the chat team to create a ticket on the forum to help a customer port their number from Koodo Prepaid to their new Public Mobile account. Customers Koodo # is 709-xxx-xxxx and their email is xxxxxxx@xxxxxxx. Thank you

Edit by Dunkman: removed personal information.

6 REPLIES 6

Meow
Mayor / Maire

New PM customer can do that by itself.

He/She has to create a PM account, activate SIM and initiate number porting.

If porting is initiated at SIM activation and account creation, OLD sim has to stay in the phone in order to receive SMS from old provider. Message should come within 90 minutes and customer has to answer YES. Porting takes few hours; first SMS will become available; do not panic, calling will become available shortly after (maybe few hours).

I would suggest customer to obtain temporary PM number, confirm everything works! and then initiate porting. Same procedure as above...

IF there is an issue with porting, there is a special phone number to call. It will be provided by somebody from us if needed by private message.

Keep forum members in the loop of porting progress so we can assist further.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@rcrane86 

Make sure that you have the old sim card in your phone when you're porting your number. You should get a message from your old carrier asking to confirm if you would like to port your number. Your reply should be: YES.

The confirmation message can take a few minutes to come in. You have 90 minutes from the time of request.

if are you stuck with Transferring your old Phone Number,

In order to transfer a phone number over to Public Mobile - you will need to activate an account with a temporary phone number and after that your contact Customer Support Agent by CS_Agent, for the transfer your number to Public Mobile,