cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Someone has the same phone number of mine?

nico7nico7
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

My name is Cong. I'm an international student studying at Halifax, NS, Canada. I got my sim card in September 2018. It's been bothering me a lot since I got my phone card. I always received message and phone call from other places called me Tobi? I tried to ignore them but it does bothers me more because I always received different calls and I'm even not sure if my phone number is safe to connect with my bank account and social media account. Yesterday, my classmates just found that there is another person use my phone number registered in whatsup. I'm so confused and what should I do NOW?

Looking forward to hearing from you soon!!!

Regards,

Cong Chen微信图片_20190110204446.jpg微信图片_20190110204456.jpg微信图片_20190110204502.jpg微信图片_20190110204507.jpg微信图片_20190110204513.jpg微信图片_20190110204519.jpg微信图片_20190110204524.jpg

22 REPLIES 22

@nico7nico7, if you haven't already, install the WhatsApp program on your device, sign up, and register your phone number.  This should help 'return' the number to being solely yours, and you'll no longer have to worry about the previous holder of the number.

@stonechucker

Bingo

This is NOT Public issue

It is Whatsapp issue

(the data app is sending / receiving as if previous user is current user)

@stonechucker wrote:

I don’t use the apps that take over your phone number for use in data only messaging, but is it possible the the previous user of the phone number hasn’t updated their app for their new new number?

you’ve had this number for over 3 months now, I think you should be able to keep it.  How long has this been happening, is it just recent?

@nico7nico7 wrote:

Thank you for your reply. If I apply for change another phone number, Can I get a new SIM card or the number just changed automatically?