cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Porting number from Koodo

Five_bucks
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I'm very new to PM - in fact none of my friends are on it. I'm trying to port my number from Koodo to PM and I feel like it's sacred knowledge.

The web form during activation of my SIM on PM told me to select a new number before trying to port my Koodo number over. Once selecting a new number I had to contact them for help on the process.

Is this how I start the porting process?

20 REPLIES 20

aweiman

pre paid

kdh53
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Just did this and the transfer of number to public mobile was instant. koodo will then send a final bill (email) of amount owing to close the account. So their bill does not need to be paid before transfering the number.

@woweh69 wrote:

You only need the serial number if you "Do not own your phone" I believe. I just ported from Koodo, took 2 minutes to transfer and I left the serial number blank.

I'm not sure what you mean by "do not own your phone", but ownership of the phone doesn't have anything to do with number porting.  As long as a phone has not been reported lost or stolen and is compatible, it will work at Public Mobile, regardless of if you own the phone yourself, are borrowing it from a friend or family member, or found it on the sidewalk. 

As for serial number, it's actually the IMEI that is used, which isn't quite the same. In most cases, it's best to avoid using IMEI number for number porting.  You're far better off using the old carrier's account number in most situations. 

I know you're new around here, so you might not have noticed, but there has been no activity in this message thread for nearly a month, and as such, the questions that pepole had have likley already been answered.

woweh69

You only need the serial number if you "Do not own your phone" I believe. I just ported from Koodo, took 2 minutes to transfer and I left the serial number blank.

d8yan