cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Port cell number from another provider

pmyan
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I am new in public mobile, and not sure of the service timeline.

Today, I failed to port my cell number from another provider to public mobile.

After searching this coummity, I sent private message to the Moderator Team.

I am not sure of how long I should wait for response.

In the past time, I just needed to call service help and it got resolved within hours.

This is a new concept, and I have to wait and don't know about the next step, and therefore got frustrated.

Thanks...

16 REPLIES 16

pmyan

Same as you, thanks everybody for the advice and help.

The Mod helped me to port over the number successfully after about 24 hours.

For people who come from Petro Canada Mobility, here are what have to provide for a successful transfer:

(1) Petro mobility account number (i.e. your cell phone number)

(2) Account name (in my case, the account name for Petro and Public Mobile is the same.)

(3) PIN, which is 4 digitals

I also povided the IMEI of my current phone, but highly doubt it was used in the transfer, as I registered with Petro Mobolity with an older phone many years ago.

superea
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hey all, thanks for the responses.  A mod finally answered (pretty much at the 47 hr mark) and I've gotten my number ported over now.  Hopefully all is well from here.

@pmyanTelus probably wants the customers to upgrade to Koodo instead of sticking around with Public Mobile.

pmyan

Hope Public Mobile will be putting more resources and money to support the Mods. Longer waiting time in queue usually means more customers and revenue, but more work and stress for the Mods.

Mods work 7 days a week. However, there are instances where it takes longer than 48 hours due to the number of enquiries in the queue.

@supereaThe moderators work - Monday to Friday: 8AM- midnight EST