cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Public, phone number transfered, can make call but not receive, SMS doesn't work.

MrMario
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I'm new to Public Mobile. I did a phone number transfer. I cannot receive calls. I cannot receive SMS and SMS i send goes nowhere (it doesn't show a fail to send error). However I can make calls, and my number shows OK on the caller ID  of the number I call. So something works... Help!

11 REPLIES 11

@jingyangfang wrote:

New to Public, phone number transfered, can make call but not receive, SMS doesn't work.

It would have been better to ask the  question yourself to get a better response but you are new so you'll get the hang of it.  You've put the pm SIM in so you have partial service. Usually calling will come last and confirms that you are successfully ported. Most likely you just need to reboot your phone. If that doesn't work remove the SIM wait a few minutes and reinsert and reboot. You've received the welcome email already? If you can have someone cal and text to see if you get those. And check data status if it's in your plan.

@jingyangfang restart your phone. U should be able to send text. When you can't receive calls and text it means the port isn't complete!  From where did you port and how long has it been? 

jingyangfang
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

MrMario

Somebody from Public Mobile called me and resolved the issue. All good now.

MrMario

@will13am Thanks I contacted moderators. 

MrMario

@smp99  @Dunkman  The transfer request was done more that 12 hours ago.

@MrMario wrote:

I received a text last night saying "To complete your request to move to Public Mobile, please go to Publicmobile.ca, click Contact us and complete the SIM and Activation online form." When I go to the website there's no "Contact us" and I wasn't able to fing the SIM and Activation online form.