cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Public Mobile Experience (1 Year of Service)

SQuinless
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello Everyone!

I just thought I’d provide some insight into my experience with Public Mobile now that I’m coming up to one year of subscribing to the service. I hesitated during my switch over to Public Mobile and I think I can probably help others make the leap with a bit more comfort by explaining my experience.

I was previously a Telus customer with a very good plan that I had for about 8 years. It was $60 for 5GB of data. I used to work for a cell phone retail store that sold Rogers, Telus, Koodo, Fido, and Chatr. Telus was hands down the company that I had to be with since I have been with them since 2005. 14 years later I’m still within the Telus company but now with their discount brand Public Mobile. I have no complaints with my experience with Telus. I’ve never had a billing issue, and any service issues I had were always rectified within minutes of calling a customer service representative. I first started thinking about switching my plan when I started to travel around Canada. My plan with Telus was local, so any time I travelled outside of Toronto I would be charged for making phone calls.

After shopping around I noticed that Public Mobile had the best deal around. $45 for 6.5GB and unlimited talk and text Canada wide. It seemed like a really good deal, I’d be saving $15 a month and getting 1.5GB more with Canada wife talk and text. The only hesitation I had was that the data was at 3G speeds. This fact made me hold off switching for almost a month, until one day my girlfriend and I decided to just suck it up and make the switch together.