cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mobile data to save on Samsung J5 (2016)

xanadu18
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hello,

I have just got a Samsung J5 cell phone, so I am still learning to use it.  I have 2 questions:

1. Whenever  I turn the phone on, the phrase "Emergency Mode" appears just below the PIN pad.  I thought my phone is already activated so this sign should not show up.  Any idea?

2. Phone screen has this message: "To save and manage mobile data, turn on Ultra data saving mode.  What is mobile data?  Where do I look for them in my phone?  Are they covered in my $15/month with auto-pay plan?

I look forward to hearing from you.  Thanks for your help.

11 REPLIES 11

@mimmo wrote:

@will13am  would it not ask for network unlock code if the phone was locked?

@will13am wrote:

@xanadu18, until you enter the unlock code for your phone, there are only limited functions available.  Thus the emergency mode which allows calls to 911. 

My bad, you might be right about that.  My first reaction here was screen lock, not SIM lock.  Looking at the release date for the phone, yeah it could be SIM lock. 

mimmo
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@will13am  would it not ask for network unlock code if the phone was locked?

@will13am wrote:

@xanadu18, until you enter the unlock code for your phone, there are only limited functions available.  Thus the emergency mode which allows calls to 911. 

geopublic
Mayor / Maire

@xanadu18 wrote:

Hello,

I have just got a Samsung J5 cell phone, so I am still learning to use it.  I have 2 questions:

1. Whenever  I turn the phone on, the phrase "Emergency Mode" appears just below the PIN pad.  I thought my phone is already activated so this sign should not show up.  Any idea?