cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

International text messages

DanAR
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

I'm new to cell phones and their uses. How do I send international texts?  Anything special? And is there a way of knowing whether they went through to the recipient?

Thanks

14 REPLIES 14

DanAR

Thanks for the useful insight.

DanAR

Thanks for this.

DanAR

Thanks for the welcome and the advice.

@computergeek541 wrote:

@gblackma 

I wouldn't consdider 1 to be an exit code, but rather to be a country code.

@Anonymous 

While 011 will work in most cases, I would consider it simpler to use +.

Yes, for example dialing the UK both 011 44 or +44 will work from North America from a mobile phone. The reason it's better to use the + convention on a mobile phone is that the "exit code" used by each country varies, and the "+" will be automatically translated so will "always work" no matter where you are. For example in North America its 011, but it's 00 in the UK, 0011 in Australia, 010 in Japan, etc.

Of course it doesn't matter too much with Public Mobile as you can't use your PM SIM outside of Canada/USA, but if you're travelling and use an International SIM your saved contacts will then work from any country without any fuss.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@computergeek541 wrote:

@Anonymous 

6 to 1.

I would say they're interchangeable anyway. Could be carrier dependent. Could be phone dependent.

I've always known to use 011. I think I saw somewhere that that is official Telus too.

But...tomayto..tomahto. 🙂

@gblackma 

I wouldn't consdider 1 to be an exit code, but rather to be a country code.

@Anonymous 

ParindaPatel
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Its very simple, you have to add contact number with proper country code and you are good to text anyone anywhere. for knowing it went through or not you can start a delivery report from your device. just go to message app > settings and search for the delivery reports and start that.