cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Only account for 30 days 2 or 3 times a year ?

SHMD
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Quick question as I am new to publicmobile...

I would like to use PM as backup data for a special use case when traveling as I use special devices that bond multipul LTE sources to prevent data drop. I presently have a Rogers SIM and Bell SIM and I am looking to add PM (Telus infrastructure) as a third fail-safe data option.

I have lots of networking and cell data knowledge, but the only question I have for publicmobile users is - can I purchase a SIM load it with data and use it for 30 days. Than maybe 2 or 3 months later load it again for 30 days? I will only need data so I do not care if mobile number associated with account changes every time I load the card.

I just don't want to have to buy a new sim card and activate a new account everytime I need to us PM. 

Thanks'

-s

8 REPLIES 8

SHMD

@stonechucker wrote:

EDITED: NOTE, Telus and Bell (currently) share the network across the country.  Is using Telus and Bell as redundancies appropriate?  Maybe for a third network, Freedom is a better option?

Thanks! - I am usually in rural areas and in most every case is never in Freedom home coverage areas, Therefore I am looking into more of a redundancy if data runs out on one of the sims or we need to bond additional SIMs data connections for more speed. 

I picked up a Public Mobile card today and ran through testing settings and bonding. Looks like it will work perfect for what I need!

stonechucker
Mayor / Maire

@SHMD, I know you've marked this as solved, but there's a possibly better solution to make the renewal less often.

Get a 90-day data-only plan which can be used for up to 90-days, and if you run out during the 90-days, top-up 1-time use data is $30 for 1 GB (at whichever 'speed' you select for the base plan).