cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4G Preferred Connection with 3G Plan

korber710
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hey All,

I am new to Public Mobile and I have a 3G plan. I was wondering if I should select my preferred mobile connection to be 3G or is it okay to prefer 4G? My thought was if I choose 3G then I might have less coverage based on the bands in my phone but have no way of knowing if my assumption is correct. The fear is that if I select 4G preferred then I will get charged for 4G data instead of using my 3G data included in the plan.

Either way let me know if I am paranoid or not.

Thanks,

Steve

9 REPLIES 9

TheOldVR
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

@srlawren wrote:

@TheOldVR wrote:

The idea of connecting LTE and being capped at 3G speeds is interesting.

I tested my parent's phone and the speed is much better than flipping to just a 3G connection and sticking with that.

I guess capping a really fast connection ends up being better.... yay!

@TheOldVR how recently did they activate/switch to a 3G speed plan?  It can take up to 72 hours for the throttling to take effect.

@srlawren They activated directly to the 3G speed plan....

Just to clarify, they are not getting LTE speeds, I just find the speed is usable for basic stuffs. If I take my Koodo phone and flip it to 3G Data it's pretty much useless, and the same applies for my parent's PM phones.

I guess it's all based on personal experience and "feel".... 

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@TheOldVR wrote:

I tested my parent's phone and the speed is much better than flipping to just a 3G connection and sticking with that.

@TheOldVR how recently did they activate/switch to a 3G speed plan?  It can take up to 72 hours for the throttling to take effect.

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

TheOldVR
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

korber710
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Okay thanks!

Tony8