cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3G vs LTE when making phone call...

BarryS
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

Hi all....I'm new to PM and everything from SIM purchase, activation, account creation has gone quite smooth.  No issues and everything seems to be working fine.  I just have a quick question.....I noticed when I make phone calls my phone switches from LTE to 3G, and then back to LTE once the call is completed.  No problems with the call quality, although I have noticed my signal strength fluctuates quite a bit more with PM than it did with Rogers.  I was pretty much at 5 bars always with Rogers in my central downtown Toronto condo.  So I was just curious about the switching from LTE to 3G during phone calls.

Thanks!

11 REPLIES 11

@stonechucker

Freedom pushes a bit harder trying to make up for crap network

I've looked at Freedom, and they're the same.  Well, at least they don't support devices that aren't sold by them.

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@kav2001c wrote:

@BarryS

VoLTE and VoWIFI are quite sketchy at best even on bigger carriers

Many restrictions in use, requirements for activation, and very few phones supported (even worse if you are bringing your own unlocked device in)

@kav2001c yeah this one frustrates the heck out of me.  My OnePlus 5T is definitely VoLTE and VoWIFI capable but I can't use it with my Koodo service because they only allow devices on their list and that were sold by them.  Ugh.  So annoying.

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

lheintzman
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

@BarryS wrote:   Hoping the lack of VoLTE and Wi Fi calling isn't. an issue.