cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to Text Australia

susanjm
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I'm pretty new to Public Mobile - activated my SIM a week ago yesterday on the $15 Province-wide plan. Everything was working fine - number ported from Telus immediately and I was able to send and receive phone calls and texts within Canada.

On Saturday I decided to test international texting. Sent two messages to my sister in Australia mentioning that it was a test. She replied a while later, we had a bit of a back and forth and then signed off. I subsequently sent her a text on Sunday and and another one on Monday. Turns out she got neither of them and hasn't received any since. I have tried to text her husband as well - but that didn't go through either!

I don't understand why it worked for a while but not afterwards and I'm not sure what to do! This plan is supposed to have unlimited texting. Help! 

37 REPLIES 37

Yes, agree, but moderators didn't solve it on their own, and the solution doesn't address the root cause.

Personally I learned a lot from the real solution, but I learned nothing from the generic suggestion to contact support.

Anyway, I respect your decision.

@darlicious wrote:

@Luddite 

I dunno....I'm almost thinking this is a self solution via the moderator team. It was the tenacity of the OP that solved the issue via telus. All the moderator did was work the switchboard.

@darlicious @sheytoon  The actual solution to the problem is not helpful to someone with this problem; they must start by contacting moderators. 🤔

>>> ALERT: I am not a CSA. Je ne suis pas un Agent du soutien à la clientèle.

Normally it's frowned to do that, but in this case it's justified.

susanjm

.@sheytoon LOL ... I tried to mark it as a solution but I guess they don't let you mark your own posts! (It actually worked for a while but then it got taken away.)

@Luddite