cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to Love Public in St. John's, But They're Not Making It Easy

maj35
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I recently ended a job with a company where they provided the phone, phone number, SIM, service, etc.

I'm basically a free agent.

I bought an unlocked Pixel 7 on Amazon so I'm looking for the best place to get my service.

Online self-service options are the best way for me (investments, banking, etc) so I really want to love Public Mobile.  However, you're not making it easy: 

1) No e-SIM capability?  When you visit the website it says in big font "We're 100% Digital!".

2) No local SIM.  I'm sitting in St. John's Newfoundland and I have to wait for a physical SIM to arrive in the mail.  If the owners of Public Mobile knew how long and frustrating it takes to ship things to Newfoundland you would really have partnered with a local cell shop to make your SIMs available. Another sting is that your website says the sim will "Ship within 2 business days"; no info about what service it will take.  Trust me, when you have no phone number (surely a reasonable segment of your market) you are VERY interested in how long you'll be without service.

3) Website is too flakey for an operation where the sole service is provided through that website.  I created an account (to write points 1 & 2 above) and I started the typical "Verify your email" email.  It took about 15 mins for that email to arrive.  In the meanwhile I tried doing several password resets; none of these ever arrived.  As a result that original account I created is a dud -- no way for me to get into it.  Even to create a ticket it asks me to sign in or to request a callback (which is frustrating because I am without a phone at the moment).