cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Signal curiosity

Pawprints1986
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

Wasn't sure where to put this

So, I've been playing a bit with an app that measures signal. It's got a total of 6 readings - it offered me a free update to the pro version so of course I said yes lol

But for whatever reason, the 5 other readings all seem better strength than the one my device chooses to use. Anyone with more know how about this stuff happen to know why this is 

I've cropped out possible location revealing info, but these are all from the same screen cap (I don't have an app that will merge these together)

Screenshot_20220522-223920_Network Cell Info~01.jpg

Screenshot_20220522-223920_Network Cell Info~02.jpg

Screenshot_20220522-223920_Network Cell Info~03.jpg

The last 4 seem to be the same actually, but why isn't my device defaulting to the second reading ? 🤔

This is under wcdma only

10 REPLIES 10

I work in the industry 🙂

Community_QA
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

@sheytoon that are some great info.  you work in Telus? or at least in the industry?

Pawprints1986

Just for kicks, I tried the same bands at a family members home, which is not ground floor of a 3 story apartment, fairly close to another 3 story apartment building...  wish they made signal boosters made for apartments in a city, but they all need to go on the roof of a house which I can't do (and those sticker things I've heard are just cheap crap)

Screenshot_20220525-192442_Network Cell Info~01.jpg

Screenshot_20220525-192513_Network Cell Info~01.jpg

3G channels are 5 MHz wide, but LTE channels have different bandwidths, namely 5, 10, 15 or 20 MHz. When measuring the signal strength, 3G uses RSSI to measure the total wideband power, but LTE uses RSRP, which are specific pilot signals on some subcarriers. It's not an apples to apples comparison.

For a 20 MHz LTE channel, the RSRP value tends to be about 30 dB lower than RSSI.