cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Port out and keep the account due to limited roaming options

paultran116
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hello,

I've been using Public mobile for several years and the service is very good.

I'll be going on a vacation in Asia but Public mobile doesn't have roaming options in these countries.

I'd like to port my number out but keep my account so I can use it with a new number when I get back. Please help let me know if this is possible.

Thank you and looking forward to your answer.

10 REPLIES 10

@paultran116 wrote:

Thank you, guys. I have to port out anyway. I need to use my number abroad.

@paultran116 which provider will you be porting your number to, just curious. Would this provider be able to provide services in Asia?

self solution removed

paultran116
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Thank you, guys. I have to port out anyway. I need to use my number abroad.

darlicious
Mayor / Maire

@paultran116 

How long are you going to be traveling in Asia? You have options for your pm service that will be far cheaper than changing providers because they offer roaming? Very expensive roaming averaging $14 to $16 per day on top of your plan price capped at on average $280/month.

Asian countries have very cheap local Sim cards with unlimited data plans averaging US$10/month even some international Sim cards like the ones offered by 3UK can average less than US$5/month for their 2yr/24GB/$80 Sim card plan. Coupled with the pm $15 plan and your pm phone number call forwarded to a voip provider phone # (like textnow or fongo) will only cost you about $25/month. You could even use a text forwarding app like Mighty Text  if you feel the need. This way you keep both your wallet and your pm account, rewards, add ons etc....safe as compared to another Canadian mobile provider's roaming options.

For info on Asian travel Sim cards and links to local Sim cards....