cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No SIM after Transferring to Public Mobile

ChrisL15
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I am a newbie to Public Mobile.  I have started the porting process and everything seems to be working well initially.  I said yes to my old provider by text in the iphone.  And in another old phone with the public mobile SIM inserted, I received 2 texts from Public Mobile (one about $2 autopay credit and another about restarting my phone).  I knew my old SIM was still working at one point until it said no service since I called myself from my mother's cell. 

Once I saw no service message from my phone with the old SIM, I decided to switch out the old SIM with the Public Mobile SIM in my iphone and that's when things went wrong.  My iphone now says no SIM.  I tried to go to cellular network in settings to figure out the APN thing and it's blank so I can't turn it on/off.  I put the Public Mobile SIM card back to my old phone and now it also says "insert SIM".  My old phone previously said Telus on the lockscreen and now it says No SIM card - emergency calls only.

I am able to log into My Account and it says amount owing is $13.00 and the payment for next cycle is $15.00.  I'm not sure if that means my card hasn't been charged yet because it's after work hours?  But my transaction history does show a payment of $15. I activated today on a Friday evening at around 8pm or so.

In any case, I did submit a ticket even though I don't have a IMEI and used my account number instead.  I'm hoping that I was able to put a bunch of zeros in place of IMEI and that there's someone out there with a similar experience that could put my mind at ease while I wait for a solution.  I'm very nervous about things going wrong because I rely on the phone for two-factor authentication and it will be a huge headache for me if I messed up the porting.

8 REPLIES 8

Anonymous
Not applicable