cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It looks like my US Roaming didn't activate. Why not?

HelloHowzit
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hello Community! Public Mobile newbie here...

I purchased a US Roaming 10-day unlimited talk, unlimited text, 250MB data plan on 10 October or so. I traveled from Vancouver down to Seattle on 12 Oct. Once across the border I enabled "data roaming" on my phone. While passing through Bellingham on the bus I tried sending a test text to a friend in Bellingham. That worked. After that, in Seattle, no texts worked, no calls worked. Data worked. My phone showed "T-Mobile". So that was not good because I needed to receive hotel entry info via text - I had to borrow someone else's phone.
Now... back in Vancouver, on 18 Oct, my Public Mobile account shows Add-On Usage info as 10/10 days left for data, messages and minutes, with 0% of 250MB data used! So it seems like the add-on just never kicked in (and I could send a text in Bellingham on my Canadian plan) and somehow my Canadian data was working? I used data several times while in the US.

I read the forums before my trip and saw that the US Roaming add-on activated the day you bought it and only lasted for 10 days beyond that. But now it looks like it didn't ever activate.

What did I do wrong?

Thanks in advance 😎

5 REPLIES 5

HelloHowzit

After opening a ticket with the details of this issue, I received this response: "Since the US carriers changed their networks we were facing with some issues regarding the US addons"
I was given a full refund.

HelloHowzit

Thanks everyone. I have submitted a ticket and am waiting to hear back from PM.

will13am
Oracle
Oracle

@HelloHowzit , not sure what happened with your roaming experience.  I was in WA in July and data worked fine.  I did not buy talk and text.  If you prove that the add-on was never consumed at all, I am sure the CSAs can process a refund.  Initiate a support ticket as already suggested.

dabr