cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Add on US data while in the US and phone is in airplane mode.

Cici1
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

We are already in the US and now want data for GPS maps. We have our phones on airplane mode so we don't get charged with texting and phone calls from Canada. I have not tried to add on yet as I forgot my password and am locked out right now. But ... with my phone on airplane mode I don't have access to selecting mobile data. What will happen if I take it off airplane mode? Can I safely add a us roaming plan when I am already in the USA? Is there any other issues I may have trying to do this? I am not technically inclined. Thx!

8 REPLIES 8

Cici1

Thank you. Yes I saw text come in and got nervous. Glad you mentioned that. Thx.

Cici1

Thank you for responding. Off airplane mode and getting text messages so hope that doesn't mean anything. Assume I just can't send them. Thx agsin

Cici1

Thank you for your response. I appreciate knowing my phone isn't roaming by default.

esjliv
Mayor / Maire

@Cici1 wrote:

We are already in the US and now want data for GPS maps. We have our phones on airplane mode so we don't get charged with texting and phone calls from Canada. I have not tried to add on yet as I forgot my password and am locked out right now. But ... with my phone on airplane mode I don't have access to selecting mobile data. What will happen if I take it off airplane mode? Can I safely add a us roaming plan when I am already in the USA? Is there any other issues I may have trying to do this? I am not technically inclined. Thx!

Hello @Cici1 

Turning your airplane mode OFF while outside Canada will not incur any charges, if you did not purchase any Roaming Addons to use in the USA.

You will not be charged for anything you do not have services for outside of Canada, texting, calling, data usage...which you need a Roaming Addon to use any of these services anyhow.