cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charging people for E-SIM??

Anonymous
Not applicable

I just noticed when activating for a new customer the E-SIM Feature Is there.. however they want $5? Is that a joke?

Bell, Telus, Roger's and every other provider give that free with the plans or service. 

Your charging us $5 for what? The E-SIM is non existent. That should be free considering we paid for the E-SIM feature in the cost of our device compatible with it should it not be? $5 is not justifiable. I've been working with providers for 4 years and Public are the only ones charging for that. 

7 REPLIES 7

Korth
Mayor / Maire

@Anonymous 

Public Mobile had free ($0) SIM cards in the beginning. For years. Free for years. They'd even pay the postage.

But all sorts of scams and cons developed around this, people reselling (free) Public Mobile SIM cards at a profit. And all sorts of questions appeared from other people who were confused by this. And all sorts of SIM-jacking frauds appeared. And Public Mobile claimed that the majority (roughly two-thirds or three-quarters) of all their SIM cards were never activated, a wasteful business expense which had to be stopped or passed along to customers. Too many SIM cards floating around meant too many problems.

So PM made SIM cards cost $5. Then $10. (Then $15. Then $20. Back down to $10 now, except when on sale for $5.)

Like anything and everything else online - a price of $0 free will attract all sorts of people and all sorts of problems from every corner of the internet. While a price of even just $1 will force people to submit valid personal and payment information, it will automatically deflect the 90% or more who just grab free things because they are free things.