cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transfer a number from a VoIP provider

Banane12
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I've been using Vbuzzer as my home VoIP provider for last 10 years or more and recently tried PM with a Montreal number. I liked it and decided to transfer my VoIP Ottawa number from Vbuzzer.

I successfully completed the process. My number changed and I lost my Montreal number from PM, which was the scenario anyway... When I call out, caller ID shows my newly transferred Ottawa number, so it is like the service is working, but when it comes to receiving a call or an SMS, it doesn't work.

When calling the Ottawa number, it goes to the voicemail of Vbuzzer, meaning the transfer is not complete yet, so, I have to be patient. That is OK but what is not OK is that I am here without a wireless phone number. People can't reach me using both Ottawa and Montreal numbers from my cell phone, meaning home phone from Vbuzzer still works.

Why am I writing this? I wish I still had the Montreal number working during this process. Since it is a VoIP number I am trying to transfer, it might take days or weeks. Will I still pay the service when no one can call or text me? I hardly use data anyway...

4 REPLIES 4

Banane12

The problem is solved. As of this morning, Tuesday, I started the transfer on the weekend, my 10+ yeat old VoIP number is transferred to PM. I remember some providers charge a $25 transfer fee. With PM, this was free. I was out of a number for just 3 days. I wish I had started the process on Monday, instead of Saturday. So, that is my advice. Patient and start on the beginning of weekdays.

geopublic
Mayor / Maire

@Banane12 wrote:

I've been using Vbuzzer as my home VoIP provider for last 10 years or more and recently tried PM with a Montreal number. I liked it and decided to transfer my VoIP Ottawa number from Vbuzzer.