cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching to Public

gracekv
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello, I have Bell plan now and I am thinking of switching to Public.  I bought the SIM card alrady.  Since I have to do this by myself, when I tranfer the number, is that the time when Bell will be notified.  I'm not very good at these things so your reply would be very much appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6

@cool_stuff wrote:

Wireless Number Porting or WLNP has streamed line a lot in Canada and now it takes few minutes to few hours depending on where you are coming from and which provider you are going to (Not familier with any SLA clearing house has in CA) but back in the days around 2003, US clearing house didn't had any SLA.

Short answer: Get your account number from existing services provider and don't cancel your services with them otherwies you will end up losing your number which goes back to ageing. 

You would also need your IMEI number when submitting a porting request from publicmobile.ca. which can be obtained *#06# 

Simply login to your account on publicmobile , go to Plan & Add-Ons > Change Phone Number > Transfer a wireless or wireline number from another provider

Enter correct information and wait for few couple hours. 

Hope it helps...

Nope, for most Canadian providers* the phone number to be ported out, the account number (numeric values only, without spaces, dashes etc) and account holder's name as shown on the bill / statement is all that is needed and recommended. The less information used the smaller the risk of typos etc is, really.

* SpeakOut and PetroCan Mobility are the exception to the rule, they don't have actual account numbers (they use the phone number for account identification, which is not the same as an actual account number) - call their customer service to find all the information necessary for a successful port out!

Some providers like ChatR do have account numbers but you have to call them to get it.