cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Province wide plan and calls to non-local area code

Ynasedkina
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello,

I am new to PM, and started with $10 plan. I want to upgrade my plan to province wide and I am a little bit confused with home province definition. Me and my partner moved from ON to NB and we keep our Ontario numbers. So we both live in NB and both have Ontario area code numbers. If I choose province wide plan, will we be able to call to each other?Smiley Happy

Thanks

28 REPLIES 28

@GreatCanadian wrote:

For this they would need a data plan. Doesn't Fongo require data? Unless on wifi of course. If they are going to upgrade they may as well move to a Canada-wide plan.

Also, why would they need new SIM cards?

GC

If they are porting out their ON number to a VOIP service the current Public Mobile account is closed and the associated SIM is deactivated. Since SIM cards are not reusable they would need a new SIM and a new account for their new NB number.

@srlawren, I don't disagree... but hey, I don't need Canada-Wide, so why should I pay for more than Province-Wide?

If my home town was considered local from my current city for home and work, I'd be fine with LD addons.

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@stonechucker wrote:

@Ynasedkina, so now, here's the problem with this.

Anyone in NB who wishes to call you on a local, or province-wide calling plan (not Canada-Wide), is going to incur long distance charges.  Folks like doctors, dentists, local shops, etc...

It's up to you.

@stonechucker Canadian telcomms need to smarten up and make all calling plans nation-wide like most have done in the USA.  There should be no need to worry in the 21st century about how people will get ahold of you when you move to another province.  

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

@Ynasedkina, so now, here's the problem with this.