cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone Number Retention

vanthony
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hello,

I am studying abroad for the next two years but coming back home to Canada every 3-4 months. I was wondering, if I cancel my plan and resume whenever I come to visit or at the end of the 2 years, will I still be able to keep my phone number? I don't want to have to pay $40/month if I'm not there to use it but I also don't want to lose my phone number. 

Thanks for the help

11 REPLIES 11

Obice
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

Another option, like some others said is to use an app like Fongo, TextNow or TextPlus.

Fongo would be your best option if you want really good audio quality (I find any other apps to be shotty at best) and then pay 1, 3, or 6 months for a texting plan either within Canada or Global.

When you come into Canada, get a data plan, at the moment I'd recommend either Chatr or Fongo Wireless.

• Chatr currently offers a data plan for 500mb and also unlimited int texting and unlimited incoming calls Canada-wide.
  • Fongo Wireless offers two data plans, 2GB or 5GB at LTE speeds except no texting or calling added whatsoever since all that is technically done within the Fongo Mobile app.

Obice
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

@vanthony wrote:

Hello,

I am studying abroad for the next two years but coming back home to Canada every 3-4 months. I was wondering, if I cancel my plan and resume whenever I come to visit or at the end of the 2 years, will I still be able to keep my phone number? I don't want to have to pay $40/month if I'm not there to use it but I also don't want to lose my phone number. 

Thanks for the help

I could be wrong, but when you don't pay your bill you have 3 months to pay your bill before your account is shut down, including your number being unassigned to you. So my thinking is that if you can log in before 3 months, say the 88th-89th day and top up your account... you should be fine.

dabr