cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moved out of Province. Number change

jamie_wil
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I have been on PM for about 4 months. have been happy so far, other than customer service....recently moved out of province and wanting to change my number. i go through the online process, but it is only giving me some random numbers for new number. im in a small town and every local number here is area code 250-674-****. the only options im given are 778-208-****. i cannot have a number like this in a small town, especially that i am a self employed contractor who needs a "LOCAL" number for everyone in the area to know im local and not think they are calling some outsider. theres only like 3000 people in this town. 

ive sent an email to someone, about 10 days ago, and still have not heard any response. good thing they claim 48 hour response time.

should i get a new sim, and prepaid from another provider that can give me a real local number and then just port that over to PM. 

Jamie

21 REPLIES 21

jamie_wil

@kav2001c@WearySky@Luddite@ech_786@SD08

Thanks for all the comments and discussion. 

I ended up purchasing a prepaid SIM card from virgin mobile in a mall $5. 

Then when i got home, could activate it online. (prepaid only is onlive activation) put in local area, Clearwater, and boom, gave me 3 'local' 250-674 options for numbers. Then had to load the account with minimum $15 worth of minutes to make the number/sim active. 

Then went to PM account and did the port over. All went smooth. All was same day. 

A real local number for $20. money well spent imo. 

thanks all

cheers

Jamie