cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to avoided text outgoing on ttc ?

Jackhyf63
Town Hero / Héro de la Ville

Yesterday I went to downtown,I didn’t sent any message out,but from my account I saw  there was counted 6 message .i think connect WiFi on younge/bloor subway maybe cause text out.anyone knows how to avoid text outgoing from ttc WiFi?

10 REPLIES 10

TMS
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

Apple and their OVERprotection. 🙂

@TMS wrote:

My iPhone sends these 6 SMS after I “Erase All Content and Settings” 

Each time you do this, the phone needs to resync to the network and another batch of text messages go out.  I wonder how this sync feature works on WiFi tablet.  Is it really a necessary thing?  I am a iOS noob, none of this makes sense to me.  But then again, android dialer does it also. 

TMS
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

My iPhone sends these 6 SMS after I “Erase All Content and Settings” 

will13am
Oracle
Oracle

This issue has been reported by a number of customers.  This is a iOS issue and nothing to do with this service.  These messages are used for account set up, but can be blocked which I assume would affect the account set up.  Connecting to the TTC sponsored WiFi is immaterial to the text messages. 

CalgaryBen
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

@Jackhyf63 wrote:

I used iPhone 6s,I think I did SMS as white.do I need change iMessage to the white?i didn’t sent any message out on the ttc,the outgoing message shows #474663.

Ah, messages to 474663 are basically the iPhone contacting the iMessage/Cloud/FaceTime servers (it's generally a rare/one-time event, and not ongoing).  You'd have to disable iMessage and FaceTime to avoid those, but based on your usage, you don't want to disable them.  Also, don't toggle those on and off regularly, as you'll generate more of the 474663 SMS.