cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coverage in Vancouver

chckn8r
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hey All,

I'm new to Public Mobile, but have been a part of the TELUS branded community for a while. I've been wondering where I can give "feedback" (I.e. complain) about cell phone coverage in my neighborhood. 

I live in a populated urban area of Vancouver - near 16th and Dunbar - and I get 1, perhaps 2 bars of coverage. The main neighborhood cell towers appear to be mounted on top of commercial buildings about six blocks away, but they are on the other side of the top of a hill. 

This isn't just a TELUS issue. Rogers customers have the same problem.

Does anyone know if there is an organization/body/company contact that I can post this concern to? It's kind of ridiculous being smack-dab in the middle of a fairly densely-populated area of a major city and having to deal with dropped calls due to limited coverage.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Dave

14 REPLIES 14

Someone will know more than I do about this but frequencies can only be used where there isn't interfearance by the same frequency at another site close by. Thus many smaller low power sites gives much better use of frequencies and we all know that telcos pay huge $$$ for spectrum. This works well in dense areas to get more bang for their buck but isn't necessary in rural areas that are covered more efficiently with higher power on bigger towers or buildings.

AE_Collector

https://www.ertyu.org/steven_nikkel/cancellsites.html

Last year Telus had three big radio towers spread in a rough triangle around my city (Chilliwack, BC). Huge tall metal-girder antenna tower things covered in spiky hardware and topped with directional dishes, one near Hwy 1, two on local mountaintops.