cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SHAMING NEWBIES IN THE FORUMS

RosieR
Mayor / Maire

I am a newbie.  I joined Public Mobile and the Community on August 18, 2020, just over a month ago.

As a newbie, I have been making a number of newbie errors in the forums such as wrong answer, repeating what had already been answered, etc etc etc

When a very knowledgeable member call the error in the forums, that is called shaming the newbie, albeit how polite the counter-response is, still a pie in the face. 

I am seeing quite a number of wrong replies (including mine) from newbies lately.  And I get annoyed myself (lol) when the reply is obviously wrong or nothing to with the price of rice. lol  And that is coming from me, another newbie.

These wrong replies in the forums might be confusing to the members who are asking for help, don't you think?

So may I suggest that instead of shaming newbies in the forums, their wrong replies be deleted and then send the clueless newbie a short pm saying "Sorry, your reply was deleted on this thread (name the thread) because (reason)."

So, what do you think?  Is this suggestion laughable or doable?

Thank you for reading,

from a very sensitive newbie.  👼

46 REPLIES 46

darlicious
Mayor / Maire

@RosieR 

This was a great thread to get a varied opinion on a subject not always openly discussed. Thank you!

treefrog
Town Hero / Héro de la Ville

@RosieR 

I haven't experienced this myself as i find everyone so helpful. But I've certainly read some less than nice posts though that are a little critical of mistakes made by new people to the community.

@RosieR 

Great thread you've created and well suited for the community forum. You brought up what can be a sensitive topic and opened a discussion about it to bring it out into the open. This will help out many members who may feel they were called out, shamed, corrected or however they feel about constructive criticism.