cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Invalid SIM

Savannahwade91
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin
I'm new to the whole public community. But I just finished activating my new SIM and when I checked my iphone4 it said it would work with my phone and now that everything is complete its saying the SIM is invalid... Is there something simple I can do?
11 REPLIES 11

piscui

Actually, you can't assume your iPhone will stay unlocked indefinitely, unfortunately.  I'm not an iPhone guy, but apparently the phone can get re-locked by OS updates after the unlocking. 

Actually, that's not entirely true. If you do a software unlock (e.g. via jailbreak and unofficial iPhone hacking tools) then yes, unlocks will not survive upgrades (unless you can preserve the baseband somehow).

However, if you do a factory unlock, it will remain unlocked permanently. This method is completely legit and fully supported - I actually got Fido to unlock my two iPhones when I switched to PM (for a $50 fee per device).

Finally, I ran into the exact same issue as @Savannahwade91 with my iPhone 4, and the SIM card was perfectly fine (I was, and still am, using it on my iPhone 6).

I fixed it by resetting my device by going to:

Settings > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings

WARNING: This will delete EVERYTHING and reset it to factory defaults, just like brand new.

Once done it picked up the SIM card right away.

I hope this helps someone.

@Savannahwade91 Given all the information and experiments you have done, I assume you have ordered another PM SIM.

While you are waiting, there is one more thing you could try. Borrow a non-Bell SIM from a friend that fits your phone and try it. If you get the same message then your phone has not been unlocked correctly. You might find this article instructive: iPhone unlocked?